UK parliamentary delegation to Ankara reports on discussions about ‘intensified oppression’ of Kurds

By Peace in Kurdistan Campaign: 

Turkish police attack Newroz celebration

Turkish police attack Newroz celebration, 2012

A recent UK parliamentary delegation to Ankara has published a report on their findings. Jeremy Corbyn MP, Lord Hylton and Jill Evans MEP spent two days in Ankara at the invitation of the Peace and Democracy Party (BDP), meeting with Kurdish and Turkish representatives from the Grand National Assembly and a variety of NGOs. They had been invited to discuss the deteriorating human rights situation facing the Kurdish people of Turkey.

Their report, which is available for you to read and download , gives an account of a variety of concerns expressed during the meetings, particularly around the denial of Kurdish rights, the new Turkish constitution, state repression and the impact of recent arrests on the BDP and Kurdish democratic politics.

The report also pledges the delegation’s support for Kurdish demands for full inclusion in the new constitution, and for the resumption of negotiations between the Turkish government and Abdullah Ocalan and the PKK.

Jeremy Corbyn also participated in Peace in Kurdistan Campaign’s recent public event at Garden Court Chambers,  in which Ocalan’s newly published The Road Map to Negotiations and his proposals for a peaceful transition to a genuine democracy was discussed by a lively panel and audience. You can read reviews of The Road Map and we hope to bring you videos of the event soon for those of you who missed it.

Peace in Kurdistan: Campaign for a political solution of the Kurdish Question

Email: <>

Contacts: Estella Schmid – 020 7586 5892 & Melanie  Sirinathsingh – Tel: 020 7272 4131

Patrons: Lord Avebury, Lord Rea, Lord Dholakia, Baroness Sarah Ludford MEP, Jill Evans MEP, Jean Lambert MEP, Alyn Smith MEP, Bairbre de Brún MEP, Jeremy Corbyn MP,  Hywel Williams MP, Elfyn Llwyd MP, John Austin, Bruce Kent, Gareth Peirce, Julie Christie, Noam Chomsky, John Berger, Edward Albee, Margaret Owen OBE, Mark Thomas

There are no comments yet. Be the first and leave a response!

Leave a Reply

Wanting to leave an <em>phasis on your comment?

Trackback URL